About Scouting

The American Legion's support for Boy Scouts of America began at the Legion’s first national convention in 1919.

Today, Legion posts sponsor more than 2,500 Scouting units across the country. This is natural for Legionnaires, who bring their service-learned skills and experiences as veterans to help build character and positive traits in our country’s youth. Few other post activities generate more goodwill from the community.

The American Legion annually honors the Eagle Scout of the Year at the National Convention. The winner of the competition receives a $10,000 scholarship, and the three runners-up are each awarded $2,500 scholarships.

Further information is available from Department Chairman:

Bill Rich

or the Americanism Division:

Past Department Eagle Scout of the Year Recipients

1994 Thomas Blaz Anaconda Post 21 Anaconda

1995 Michael Kochivar Stanford Post 53 Stanford

1996 Shawn Anderson Power Post 103 Power

1997 Rick Bedwell Plentywood Post 58 Plentywood

1998 Justin Davis Livingston Post 23 Livingston

1999 None

2000 Jon Thompson Helena Post 2 Helena

2001 Luke Wardensky Libby Post 97 Libby

2002 Adam Peck Helena Post 2 Helena

2003 Kingston Small Butte Post 1 Butte

2004 Ross Tangedal Plentywood Post 58 Plentywood

2005 Mathew Bolland Malta Post 57 Malta

2006 Kody Nathe Great Falls Post 3 Great Falls

2007 Dennis Shirts Billings Post 4 Billings

2008 Jonathon Heslip Jefferson City Post 2 Helena

2009 None

2010 Nephi Nielsen Vaughn Post 130 Vaughn

2011 Joseph Quinones Helena Post 2 Helena

2012 None

2013 None

2014 Danial Quinones Helena Post 2 Helena

2015 David Otto Belgrade Post 30 Belgrade

2016 None

2017 Zachary White Helena Post 2 Helena

2018 None

2019 None

2020 Tony Higuera Missoula Post 27 Missoula

2021 Hailey Carpenter Helena Post 2 Helena

2022 Samuel Waller Belgrade Post 30

2023 Keatin Hertz Billings Post 117

Website Builder Software